QLC

The Burning Question

My Story

 

I recently reinvested myself into my life and the universe is not only listening, it’s creating; business opportunities are appearing, friendships are growing, and relationships are building. And it’s all challenging, fun, and exhausting! If you read my previous posts, I write about finding time to reflect, letting go of fear, and learning to love myself all of which have led me to the burning question that I ask everyday: What kind of life do I want to live?

I don’t know about you, but I often talk to myself and create scenarios about the future or events that haven’t happened yet. I dissect the feeling of being in those moments, often like a lucid dream, and bask in the worry-free sunlight that is my future success. I take responsibility for my previous actions and those that I will need to take in order to get to that place. I turn any “shoulds” into “musts” in order to eventually live those moments in the present.

I first try to be more specific with my goals and the timeline to get there. I want many things to create a rich, vibrant life. Some are material, like a house and multiple businesses and others are feelings, like love and success, but nonetheless, I try to be as specific as possible about how to achieve those goals which steers me in the proper direction. When I remain ambiguous and distant, I begin to feel that control diminish.  When I get specific and proactive, it’s amazing how apparent those elements become in my life.  As I’ve put my focus on my business, opportunities ranging from additional revenue streams to possible expansions have come my way. I’ve stopped forcing my ambition on the world and allowed it to flow to me. By giving myself a timeline to achieve a goal, I’m immediately placing it on a spectrum of priorities that will drive me to a more positive present and a successful future.

However, if I want more, then I’m going to have to do more. I, like many people, work hard. Often that characteristic can be enough for success but if I want more out of life, I not only have to work harder but smarter and on a bigger scale. I believe that my abundance is directly proportional to the number of people I affect. I am not owed anything nor am I entitled to anything. I have a claim to the pursuit of life, liberty, and happiness and that’s about it. Anything else, I will have to create, piece by piece, and if I want more out of life, I’m going to have to contribute more to it.  For those who know me, helping others live healthy lifestyles and business are two of my passions. I have been blessed to combine both, and help as many people as I have so far, but I know I will need to touch many more lives before all is said and done to achieve my goals. This blog is a start. Where I will finish, I do not know.

To achieve more out of life, I will have to win the constant battle of allowing the arrival of success by beating down the fear of failure. Whichever one of these is stronger will win out and directly shape my destiny. Period. Fear is a powerful enemy but can also be an instrumental ally. I have taken fear and run with it, leaving a secure job with a paycheck, a meaningful relationship, and financial stability all to open myself up for the arrival of success. Following the path less traveled has significantly increased the quality of my life while decreasing the limiting beliefs I hold for myself that I try to eliminate on a daily basis. I settle for nothing in order to obtain everything.

Yet, I still tend to worry a lot, but most of the time, I worry because I feel like I don’t have control over my life. Once I accept that I ultimately don’t, but DO have the ability to provide myself with the best possible chance to win, that worry diminishes. I take out the guesswork. I do the research. I do the legwork. I take the extra steps necessary to allow my most favorable outcome. I think, plan and execute. I don’t want to leave my life to chance, and I immediately take action to assuage any problems or negative feelings. I can’t predict how others will react or if I’ll get what I want, but I refuse to be a bystander in the story of my life.

So what kind of life do I want to live? What a question! I’ve pondered this question so often I sometimes forget to live in the present, something I’m now working on, but it’s essence is always with me, driving me towards my goals and a life that I will be proud of. One in which, I choose my path amidst the chaos of an unpredictable world. One in which, I make a lasting contribution on this earth and am able to say I did it my way. And, on top of it all, one in which I lived well, loved passionately, and regretted nothing.

By Brian Jaffe

Leave a Reply

