Food & Drink

The Healthy Living April Challenge: Week Three

We’re over the halfway mark! Have you been following along with Week 1 and Week 2? I don’t know about y’all, but I’m actually feeling awesome. And my body even feels different when I eat crap now — I swear! On my cheat day this past week, I indulged in steak and mashed potatoes … and the entire next day I had a lovely little food baby in my belly. It wasn’t cute, and it didn’t feel cute, either. Don’t get me wrong, walking past the pastry counter at brunch is still a bit of a nightmare, but I’m holding strong.

This week, in addition to following the below meal plan, take a loong hike (or stroll, if there is no hiking nearby) alone. No music. Just be with yourself.

So, here we go with Week Three’s meal plan. Same as in week’s past — since I’m cooking for one, I’ll be repeating meals. If you’re cooking for a family, or *need* to mix it up, you may want to check out some additional recipes to sub in for repeats. If you want to save even more money; pick two recipes you like and eat ‘em for varying meals all week. The grocery list at the bottom of this week’s meal plan is if you make every one of the meals suggested.

For more daily tips in between weekly posts, follow QLC on Twitter or Instagram – I’ll be posting all month with the hashtag #AprilChallenge!

Day one:

Day 2:

  • Meal one: Greek yogurt and berries
  • Meal two: 1 hard-boiled egg
  • Meal three: Grilled Chicken Veggie Bowl (I halved the recipe for 4 servings instead of 8)
  • Meal four: Handful of cashews
  • Meal five: Lemon Garlic Tilapia with brown rice
  • Meal six: Herbal or Detox tea.

Day 3:

Day 4:

  • Meal one: 2 scrambled eggs (one just egg white) with any green veggie mixed in.
  • Meal two: Handful of cashews
  • Meal three: LEFTOVERS: Saucy Sauteed Shrimp over Quinoa
  • Meal four: 1 banana
  • Meal five: Chicken and Sugar Snap Stir-fry (Alterations: no cornstarch or oyster oil, brown rice instead of white)
  • Meal six: Herbal or Detox tea.

Day 5:

Again, every day you should also be drinking as much water as possible! That means a glass with every meal if you can. If you’re like me, and hate the taste of water (…I know), add a tiny splash of lemon.

Screen shot 2014-04-12 at 4.59.29 PM

By Liza Nedelman

Leave a Reply

