QLC

My Year In Review: Goals and a Bucket List

Now that the first month of 2014 is coming to a close, I’d like to take a look back at 2013 and set up some realistic (and some not-so-realistic) goals for 2014.

In 2013, I managed to cross a few key activities off my bucket list, conquer a few fears, and learn a little bit more about myself.

547244_710769176146_411541678_n

1. I became a Justice of Peace for a day in Massachusetts. This was something I never thought I would actually have the chance to do. Thanks to my college roommate and dear friend, Lindsay, I was able to perform the ceremony of a lifetime. I wrote an entire wedding ceremony from scratch, practiced over and over again, and had the honor of watching one of my best friends walk down the aisle, and end smack dab in front of me. I had the pleasure of being the one to announce Mr. and Mrs. Kevin Horick, for the very first time. I was up close and personal when they exchanged vows, and I was lucky enough to see all the faces in the crowd smile as the happy couple said, “I do.” Not many people can say they did that. This not only brought me closer to Lindsay, but to my grandparents who have passed away. My grandfather was a priest, and through the process, I could feel myself connecting to him, and on the day of the ceremony, all my fears were suddenly gone. I felt like they were all right there with me the entire time, sitting on my shoulder sprinkling bravery dust all over me. It was a true out of body experience.

photo.PNG

2. I learned to shoot a gun. I know, this one is weird. Why would I want to shoot a gun? It is important to me, as a woman in my 20s, to know how to properly load, hold, and shoot a gun. I don’t own a gun, and I don’t hang out with many people that do.  But a gun offers protection, and should I ever decide I need one in my home, I feel confident that I could properly protect myself with it. But the gun also made me a bit uneasy. Holding such a small piece of equipment with a LOT of power is a scary thing. You really have no idea exactly how powerful a gun is until you shoot one. And I hope that I will never have to use one again. Except to shoot paper zombies in a gun range 🙂

942197_725559865486_104938792_n

3. I flew a plane. I didn’t even think this would ever be on my list, but now I can cross it off without even having to write it down! This experience was… unreal. This time I had control of a VERY big piece of equipment. I didn’t take off, and I didn’t land it. But once we were up in the air, I had control for a small amount of time. Looking down at California, flying up the Santa Monica coast and over the Santa Barbara mountains showed me a view of California I could have never expected to see. Being up in the air, and conquering that fear of flying, made me feel so grateful that was able to even get an opportunity like that. I am so lucky to be able to have people in my life that trust me with theirs, all the way up there in the air.

photo.PNG-2

4. I launched QLC. This was a big one. It was something I had thought about for a very long time, but finally putting everything into motion was the biggest step I had to take. I had to decide what I wanted the layout to look like, produce an entire video shoot with a full cast a crew, find writers and write my own material. It was a lot to do, and most of it I had never done before. But with full support from friends, family and creatives, to massive amounts of help from my team, we did it. And I can call myself a “creator” which was a big goal for me.

Now on to 2014. What do you have in store for me?! I think it might be hard to beat 2013…

My bucket list: skydive, ride a hot air balloon, and hopefully see another country I can cross off my list. I’m trying to find Neverland. But aren’t we all?

Goals: keep my commitments, don’t always assume the worst, and make sure I’m spending quality time with important people in my life. These are important… MUST stick to them!

By Alex Devlin

2 thoughts on “My Year In Review: Goals and a Bucket List

  1. You are remarkable. There are so many more things you could add to this list because every single day you do something brilliant. You just don’t realize it. I couldn’t be more proud of you.

Leave a Reply

