Food & Drink

The Essential Peanut Butter Roundup

peanut-butter

I have a slight addiction to nut butters. Okay, maybe it’s not so slight. At any given time, I have at least 10 different jars of nut butter in my pantry. The time I spent $16 on one jar (on sale!) I wasn’t sure whether I should hate myself or be really excited to crack that baby open. Excessive? Maybe. Amazing and tasty? Definitely.

For addicts like me and for those teetering on the edge of nuttiness, I’d like to share a line up of the newest varieties of nut butter I’ve tried.

Peanut Butter & Co. White Chocolate Wonderful Peanut Butter

download

  • Price: $3.74
  • Rating: 4 out of 5 stars
  • Pros: Creamy texture, no need to mix
  • Cons: Added sugar, very sweet

A favorite among Instagrammers and other nut butter addicts like myself, NYC-based Peanut Butter & Co’s White Chocolate Wonderful is definitely a sweet treat. It keeps a nice consistency without having to stir, and is perfect for your sweeter dishes or for pairing with bananas, apples, oatmeal, and so on. But if you’re craving that saltiness that you’re used to getting from your favorite peanut butter, this flavor may tilt just a little too far on the sweetness scale.

PB Crave Choco Choco

  • Price: $6.99
  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars
  • Pros: God himself invented this peanut butter, I’m pretty sure.
  • Cons: None, except maybe the fact that I have to restrain myself from eating the whole jar

Stop what you’re doing right now and go buy Choco Choco. You will never want to eat anything else again. I might be exaggerating but please just trust me… this stuff is SO good. It goes well on top of muffins, toast, and just about anything. I can’t wait to try the other flavors from PB Crave, especially Coco Bananas and Cookie Nookie (like, what?!).

Nuttzo Creamy Peanut Free

nutzo

  • Price: $19.99
  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars
  • Pros: No added sugar/salt/oil, nutritional powerhouse
  • Cons: Price, Slightly underwhelming taste

There’s a really cool story behind the Nuttzo brand, but I have to be honest – I can’t see me paying this much money for a jar of nut butter ever again. There are no peanuts in this particular variety, so it’s made of the more “expensive” nuts and seeds: almonds, cashews, Brazil nuts, pumpkin seeds, chia seeds, flax seeds, and hazelnuts. I love the fact that Nuttzo is so healthy, and the upside-down jar for no-stir storage, but the taste did not impress me as much as I had hoped it would. It also comes in crunchy, chocolate, and a less expensive version that does include peanuts.

PB2 Powdered Peanut Butter

  • Price: $5.99
  • Rating: 3 out of 5 stars
  • Pros: Reduced calorie, reduced fat, good for oatmeal
  • Cons: Not as creamy as regular peanut butter, taste slightly compromised, fewer servings per container

Among dieters and the calorie conscious, PB2 is huge. It contains 85% less calories from fat than regular peanut butter. Two tablespoons of PB2 contain only 45 calories, as opposed to 190 calories found in traditional peanut butter. If you’re wondering how the powder works, it’s really easy. Simply mix PB2 powder with a tablespoon of water! Admittedly, the creaminess and taste of PB2 does not exactly echo regular peanut butter. But for the significantly lower amount of fat and calories, it’s not a bad alternative. I like mixing it into oatmeal or baked goods where the differences are not so in-your-face.

Wild Friends Sesame Cranberry Peanut Butter

download (1)

  • Price: $6.99
  • Rating: 4 out of 5 stars
  • Pros: Unique, lots of mix-ins
  • Cons: Must be stirred

This flavor didn’t jump out to me as a must-try at first, but I’m so glad I bought it! It’s different than anything I’ve ever tried, and the sesame seeds and cranberries give it a trail mix-ish vibe that’s really nice on crackers and bagels. There’s certainly no lack of seeds or dried cranberries in the jar, but it does require mixing when the oil separates. The girls from Wild Friends seem so sweet, and I’m happy to see them popping up on shelves all over the U.S.

Is anyone out there a nut butter fiend like me? What’s the best flavor you’ve tried? Any cool nut butter recipes floating around? As you can see, I (literally) can’t get enough nut butter, so please share your thoughts!

By Emily Gasper

Leave a Reply

