QLC

The Evolution of my Facebook

My Facebook friends are dropping like flies and by dropping I mean getting engaged.  I have officially entered into adulthood and my Facebook page is now dedicated to engagements, weddings and babies. Important life choices like raising a family or buying a house are no longer in the distant future for my friends, now they are a reality.

I have been having a hard time digesting all of the life changes that are happening around me. The life I am leading is much different than those of my friends and sometimes that can be very confusing. I still feel like I am very young, and I have so much more I want to learn and do but I have to remind myself that isn’t the case for everyone.

It can be hard to support the decisions of others especially when they are much different than our own. Marriage, kids, and finances are all very personal and mean something different to every person. It can be so easy to judge and criticize the way others live their lives but I have learned that it is much easier to accept and support the ones you love.

I have been consciously making an effort to enjoy other people’s happiness. I find that the more you support others in their endeavors the more confident you will be in all aspects of your life.

We all know how it feels to be judged or brought down by another person and reminding yourself of that feeling makes it easier to treat others kindly. No matter how much I may want to yell, “ Hey! You are only 23 what is the rush?” when I see a new engagement on Facebook, it is not my place to say. I have no right to judge others and when I do decide to take the plunge I don’t want other to be judging me.

We are all on different journeys and I am pretty sure that there will be bumps in the road for all of us. Make a point to make the road a little smoother for others and hopefully they will do the same for you in return.  So congrats to all of you homebuyers, love bugs, and new parents, I may not be ready yet but everyone’s quarterlife is a little different and that is what makes life so exciting.

By Paige Sullivan

Leave a Reply

