QLC

Happy Birthday Dad: A Letter To You…

923434_680508803176_106743029_n

I would like to take this time to say Happy Birthday to the man that has supported me for 26 years, loved me for 26 years, and has only been mad at me one time when I was 4 and threw an egg sandwich at my head because I was being a brat (clearly I’m not over it yet)… my dad. My hero.

Dad,

Happy birthday! I’m sorry I can’t be in NYC to celebrate with you, so I decided to write you this letter instead. As you know, QLC is dedicating a video a week to a different influencer. Someone who is making strides in their chosen field, someone who inspires us to get up and do something, and/or someone who makes you want to be better. For me, that person is you.

You have had such an impact on my life in so many ways. I’ve seen our family go through, a number of different struggles, publicly and privately, and you have always maintained such a strong, clear, balanced head during it all.  I admire how funny you can be without even knowing it or trying to be. You always find humor in every situation.

311566_633717024276_376454882_n

I’ve learned how to be so strong in my beliefs and stand up for what I want, without being too aggressive. Sometimes, you have to take a step back and really look at every situation and think about your next move, rather than act impulsively. I so admire your patience, with everything, and I wish that I could be more like you in that respect.

You’ve taught me that there are few men good enough for me, and to be patient and find the right one. I have to tell you that it will be impossible, because I will never find someone that is as great to me as you are to mom. But I will continue to look, because you have given me some hope that a good one is out there!

534708_633720317676_958465538_n

You’ve shown me how important it is to be nice to everyone and treat everyone the same way. Mikey always says, “Dad talks to the janitor like he talks to his boss. Everyone is equal, and no one is better than anyone else.” And that’s why everyone loves you and adores being in your presence. You make everyone feel instantly at ease.

I love how appreciative of the little things you are, like taking the long way to get somewhere so you can see the waves at the beach (“Mr. Cape Cod”). You cherish your long walks in the park with your girl, Skilo. And sitting in the backyard with a good glass of wine, grilling up some food with your family is your favorite thing to do.

428412_633716225876_80046358_n

And lastly, you are the most selfless person I know. You never say, no. You always try to find a way. Or you tell me to call mom and she will find a way. You both have done more for me than I could ever repay you for, and I am so lucky that I have such an amazing set of parents, who, through thick and thin, are ALWAYS there for me. You have allowed me to create such an awesome life, given me all the tools I need to succeed, and have made me feel more loved than anyone else could ever make me feel.

Dad, happy birthday!!!!!!!!! You deserve nothing but the best day and the best life.  I am so thankful for you and all that you do for our family every day. And I promise, one day, I will finally make you a real movie star.

Forever your little girl,

Cookie

By Alex Devlin

1001765_688856848626_753656355_n

Leave a Reply

