Career / QLC

Thoughts on Post-College Life

Life post-college can be daunting, fun, and everything in between. It has been one year since I graduated and the emotions that I have felt this year have been such a roller coaster. One day I feel on top of the world and the next I feel so lost. I think this is something that everyone goes through or at least that is what I keep telling myself.

When I moved to LA I didn’t realize what I was getting myself into. LA is a place that breaks you down as much as possible and when you are just about ready to quit a shimmer of light shines through. I go back and forth between moving home and loving LA every other day. When someone asks me what I want to do or where I am going with my life my answer every time is “I don’t know!” As much as I want to have an answer as to what I am doing and why I am doing it I just don’t have one.

I hate not having an answer for people. I wish like many of my friends I had a normal job and was on my way to an amazing career in finance or medicine or something. I however chose to live the “dream” here in Los Angeles. I chose the path less traveled according to my grandmother. If only my grandmother knew how many of us were out here chasing the same dream.

I am one year out of college chasing the dream. Some days I feel like I am running on a treadmill, like I am working my ass off but getting nowhere. When I feel like this I usually call my boyfriend or one of my girlfriends. When I call them to vent the one thing that makes me feel better is that they usually feel the same way that I do. Even though they lead a different life than I do they can relate. It doesn’t matter what kind of job we have or where we live we are all trying to figure this stuff out.

I hate my twenties and I love my twenties. It is the most confusing time in my life but I am trying very hard to enjoy them. Everyone keeps telling me that I need to live life to the fullest and really enjoy this time so that is what I am going to do. On the “good days” I am going to really embrace it and on the “bad days” I am going to eat a lot of chocolate and hope the next day is another “good day.”

By Paige Sullivan

2 thoughts on “Thoughts on Post-College Life

  1. Reblogged this on Miss Daniels and commented:
    This about sums up how I feel at times, only thing though the writer is lucky to not be living at home like me that’s still under my mother’s roof and I so want to get out there already. I guess I will have to become good friends with Patience.

  2. I love this! Similar boat here, except living home. I definitely alternate between feeling lucky/content, and feeling anxious/useless.

Leave a Reply

