Tips & Tricks

The 5 Rules of Cleaning Out Your Closet

Every three to six months I find that I have a hard time fitting my new clothing purchases into my closet. This is a big dilemma because I have to start putting multiple shirts on one hanger and really digging to find the outfits that I am looking for. While this seems like a first world problem, which it is, it is a problem that I run into several times a year. Part of the problem is that I have a shopping problem. Not in the way that I am in debt and spend thousands of dollars on clothing but in the way that I go to a store at least 5 times a week and 3 of the 5 times I purchase something. I am a broke post grad but I am a serious bargain hunter so most of my purchases don’t cost much more than happy hour with the girls.

This week I think I am going to clean out my closet. I am trying to set rules for when I do this. I find that every time I clean out my closet I run into issues with what to keep and what to get rid I become so attached to my clothing that I have a hard time letting it go.

The 5 rules that I am going to use this time around are pretty simple to follow:

  1. If you haven’t worn it in over 6 months (unless it is a winter item that you cant wear year round) you need to toss it or donate it.
  2. If it has any sort of rip, tear, stain, or deformity it is probably best to toss it. When is the last time you sewed anything or tried to fix your worn clothing? Never so why hold onto it.
  3. Is it out of style? : If so why are you holding onto it? There are some items that we buy because they are hot at the time but six months later not so much. There is no point in holding on to those items any longer.
  4. Make sure the clothing fits properly: Whether you have gained weight, lost weight, got bigger boobs, or anything else you might as well try the clothes on. There are so many things in my closet that no longer fit they way they once did or are stretched out. It is very silly to keep clothing that wont look good on you so it is probably time to donate.
  5. Shoes aren’t forever: It is important to look at your shoes and coats as well. If you have a shoe that one heel is falling apart or boots that are super worn out consider having them repaired. If you don’t want to get them repaired it is once again time to toss or donate.

I am going to try and stick to this set of guidelines while going through my clothing. I cant say how successful it will be… but I am going to do my best to get rid of the old and make room for the new.

By Paige Sullivan

 

One thought on “The 5 Rules of Cleaning Out Your Closet

  1. Pingback: StyleBook: A Fashion Girl’s Dream Come True | The Fashion Bible

Leave a Reply

