QLC

Friend Dating

There needs to be a website where you can date friends. Like OkCupid for finding friendships. Does that exist?

I have been in LA for almost a year now and still have little to no real friends. I have found that making friends when aren’t in school is a difficult task. I try and be friendly and outgoing but when you are just meeting a person how do you initiate the next “friend date?” I don’t want to be that annoying girl who texts or Facebooks someone if they do not want to be my friend.

I think there needs to be a dating code for making friends. What are the rules, how soon until you can text or call someone after you meet them, when do you know if you are friends or not?

I work at home so unfortunately I don’t meet anyone at work. I wish I did, because then I could bond with people over how much we hate work or our evil coworker. I don’t have that- so how should I make friends?

I don’t want to meet people at the coffee shop or the bar but where else can I people? LA is a strange place to being with and it is even worse without friends. I am going to make a goal to find friends this summer and make a real effort. I don’t know how I am going to do it but I am going to try my hardest.

I am going to make a point to go out anytime someone invites me no matter how well I know them or like them. Even if I don’t like them I may meet someone else while I am out.  I am going to try and join a team of some sort and take on extra curricular activities like working as a PA or helping out at events.

I need to be open to all opportunities no matter what. I will keep telling myself this until I am happy and have found my place in LA. This is harder than achieving my goals career wise. What is life without friends who you can spend your free time with?

Hopefully once I complete my friend-dating this summer I will be able to write a rule-book on the do’s and don’ts… stay tuned!

By Paige Sullivan

7 thoughts on “Friend Dating

    • Thanks! I have actually looked into it in the past and it definitely feels like a good way to meet people with common interests.

  1. I’m with you. I live in LA and work from home too, and finding friends outside of work relationships has been difficult. I think LA generally is a tough town to find friendships in – everyone I meet already has their “group” and is sort of settled into their social lives. There needs to be a support group for “girls who work from home and want friends!”

  2. My coworker showed me cliqie.com and I’m a big fan of that over the others in terms of actually meeting people vs. just entertainment. It has a different approach that feels less sketchy cause you and your friends essentially act as “wingmen”. I like that it helps you find things to do too. Skout’s okay too, but still has it’s fair share of creepers. Good luck!

  3. Good luck in your quest. I was in a similar situation and turned to craigslist for friend dates. Though a slow process it worked. I even blogged about.

    It won’t always be comfortable, but you’ll have some great things to post.

Leave a Reply

