From Mom

An Ode to Mom

I am not embarrassed to say it, I need my mom, I am 23 years old and I need my mom. When you are small you need your mom. When you are a teen you hate your mom. When you turn twenty she becomes your best friend. She is the one person who I look to for advice on almost everything. My mom may not always tell me what I want to hear but she is usually right about a lot of things.

I love my mom. We have always been very close. We love to shop, get our nails done, people watch, etc. We have a lot in common. On more than one occasion, several people I barely know have told me how much I remind them of my mother.

Some days I take this as a compliment and others not so much. My mother is loud; she exaggerates to no end and is never afraid to say how she feels. All my friends loved my mom when we were growing up but I couldn’t decide if I was proud or embarrassed half the time.

In high school I envied my mothers ability to not care what anyone thought about her. She had her opinions and wasn’t afraid to make them known. She has never cared the way others saw her as long as she knew who she was. I didn’t realize it when I was younger but watching her as a child shaped who I am today.

It wasn’t until a few years ago that I realized I am a lot like my mother. I work hard, I say what I am thinking, and no I really don’t care what anyone else thinks of me.

I know what I want in life and I will do anything to get it. I wasn’t always like this it came in time If it wasn’t for my mother I don’t think I would be able to say that.

Watching her everyday helped me grow into the person I am today. With every major issue in my life my mother has been there. She is also there for the silly things. When I need to cry because I am stressed over school or work, she is there. If my friends are being bitchy and I need to vent, she is there. If I just want to shop all day, she is there. My mother is always there for me.

I don’t know what I would do without my mother. If you asked me ten years ago what I thought of my mother I would probably say she was annoying and unfair. Today if you were to ask me I would say she was amazing and strong. It is pretty crazy how ten years can change the way you view the world and the people in it.

By Paige Sullivan

Related:

Leave a Reply

