Food & Drink

QLC Cooking: Black Bean and Olive Cous Cous

cous

I have to admit–I have a routine whenever I go to Trader Joe’s. I usually go a little before lunch, lurk around the food sample section (the more cooking involved, the better! I could care less about chopped-up squares of banana bread), chat it up with the person serving the samples, walk away, get a coffee sample with soy milk, and then discreetly go back to get a second helping–hoping that nobody notices. To rationalize this, I think to myself that the sample server and I are homies by this point, so they won’t mind.

This is just how I roll.

Over the weekend, I ran across a Traders Joe’s dish that was so delicious, healthy, and well-balanced in flavor that I bought all the ingredients they placed in front of the sample stand–something I rarely do. The dish blended savory couscous with hearty black beans, black olives, crumbled feta, and Goddess dressing, into a slightly tangy and light meal that took me less than half an hour to make tonight for dinner. I served it with a side salad dressed with a garlicky balsamic vinaigrette…and poured lots of red wine for drinking.

[Yields 6-7 servings]

Ingredients:

  • 3 cups chicken broth
  • 2 tbsp of olive oil
  • 2 tsp salt
  • 12 oz box of couscous
  • 3.8 oz can of sliced black olives, drained
  • 15 oz can of black beans, drained and rinsed
  • 1/2 bottle of 8 fl. oz Goddess dressing
  • 2 oz. feta crumbles (Mediterranean style preferred, but regular feta works too)

Directions:

  1. In a medium-sized pot, combine chicken broth, olive oil, and salt. Heat until boiling.
  2. Add couscous to the pot. Remove from heat and cover with lid.
  3. Let stand for five minutes.
  4. Lift lid and fluff couscous with a fork.
  5. Add to pot olives, beans, feta, and Goddess dressing. Mix well and serve.

By Jean Trinh

Originally posted on Foodie In LA

3 thoughts on “QLC Cooking: Black Bean and Olive Cous Cous

  1. Pingback: QLC Cooking: Chef Gerard’s Red Quinoa Salad | Q L C

  2. Pingback: Becoming Vegan | Q L C

  3. Pingback: Healthy “Cooking”: ABC Smoothie | Q L C

Leave a Reply

