Sex & Relationships

No, I Don’t Want To Get Married

url

I am young. Fresh out of college and ready to take on the world. I have goals and dreams about what I want my life to be. In ten years I see myself with my dream job, a loving husband, and possibly a few kids. I have no plans to rush this. I do not want to force anything to happen or to regret any of my decisions. For some reason though the people around me want me to step up my game. I am constantly being asked when I am going to get engaged. All my girl friends want to go to a wedding and my co- workers think its time. I am just not ready.

A little background information about me. I have been in a relationship with the same guy since I was 16. I guess you could call him my high school sweet heart. We met through a friend and never thought we would be where we are today. I am still very much in love with my boyfriend and hope to be forever but that doesn’t mean I want to get married. This is a hard concept for many people to grasp.

Just because I have been with my boyfriend for 7 years doesn’t mean we have to get married. People forget that 7 years isn’t that long when you are talking high school and college years. Much of our relationship was spent growing up. We didn’t even have cell phones or a license when we started dating. Yes we have been together over half a decade but no we aren’t ready for marriage.

We are 23. In my opinion we are much to young to be getting married. Marriage is not only committing to love someone it is much more than that. You are making a commitment to be financially and legally bound to this person. If this person screws up big time that’s going to be on you. I do not want that responsibility right now.

I have many reasons I don’t want to get married yet. For starters I just moved to LA and my boyfriend is still in Boston but that doesn’t keep people from asking. How can you expect a couple to get married when they live on two separate coasts? I am sure some people make this work but it just sounds silly to me.

I also want to have an amazing wedding and weddings cost a lot of money. I do not have any money. What I do have is student loans up to my ears. Every girl dreams about her wedding and I am no different. Until I have the means to have the wedding of my dreams I don’t want to get married.

I am very content with my life. I like living in the moment. I think when a person is ready to get married they will know. I am still in a very committed relationship and in my eyes at 23 we’ve got nothing but time.

By Paige Sullivan

Related:

One thought on “No, I Don’t Want To Get Married

  1. Totally understand.
    Besides, when you screw things up, it also becomes his; and your student loans also become his. Also there is the life after the wedding, when you will be worrying about raising kids.
    Wish you the best.

Leave a Reply

