QLC

This Is Me Blaming Drake

YOLO

This may be the most embarrassing thing I’ll ever admit, but I’m pretty sure where I am in my life right now is a direct result of YOLO, or, You Only Live Once.

I know what you’re thinking. “Seriously?” And I’m going to say yes, because the acronym YOLO basically took over my life for a good three months last summer. I should probably preface this by telling you that I can be kind of ridiculous. When I saw that people were using this acronym seriously, and even more wearing neon shirts plastered with it, I couldn’t help but play on the absurdity of it.

I started to say “YOLO” at every opportunity I could, especially in completely inappropriate situations. I said it while I was delirious and running on no sleep to the decent looking boy sitting next to me on a 6am flight to Chicago. He proceeded to ask me for my number. I taught the Ukrainian bus boy at my place of work how to say it. He walked up to me one night with no prompt and said “YOLO Kaycee, I love JLO.” I even started using it as a verb. The acronym and the meaning behind it slowly began to creep its way into every corner of my life.

During what I now refer to as the “Summer of YOLO”, I made the decision to forego finishing my Bachelor’s degree in the fall and move to California instead. I started talking to a boy who was notably younger than me, liked him far more than originally planned, and had the most fun I may ever have on a date. I was chosen to be part of a street performance called “Black Guys Dancing” in Boston. That is not something that happens to me! I went to Brooklyn for a weekend and acted way more hip than I really am. I got my nose pierced at twenty-five years old.

And you know what? Saying “YOLO” after I did anything mildly questionable helped to make me feel better about this quarter-life crisis I’m blatantly in the midst of.

Honestly, I don’t know if it was the power of the YOLO or what, but I realize now that once I started saying it all of the time (regardless of my main objective to be silly and slightly obnoxious), I actually started to live like I might die tomorrow. Thank god, because I think I’m having best year ever. I came out to California. I drove the over 3,000 miles to get here- by my fucking self. It was the most amazing thing I’ve ever done in my life.

Now, what am I doing here? I couldn’t really tell you. And although the uncertainty is a tad scary and I’m freaking out in my head about it pretty frequently, I’m beyond happy I’ve done it.

So I guess I’m not really mad at Drake about YOLO. I suppose I should thank him. Just know that when I have my inevitable quarter-life crisis “what the hell am I doing here?” moment tomorrow, I will be cursing “The Motto” for what it did to me and blaming the kid in the wheel chair from Degrassi for it.

By Kaycee Snowden

9 thoughts on “This Is Me Blaming Drake

  1. Awwww, Kaycee. This is wonderful! Keep on living like YOLO-it sounds like its working for you. I wish you all the best!!

    Meghan (S)

  2. Pingback: The Nostalgia Playlist and The Art Of The Mixtape | Q L C

  3. Pingback: Learning To Like Yourself in Your 20s | Q L C

  4. Pingback: The Cross-Country Playlist | Q L C

Leave a Reply

